Which Teams Have Won the America Cup?

Chile wins the America Cup team photo with trophy.

Tim Clayton - Corbis/Contributor/Getty Images

Copa America is the oldest international continental soccer (association football) competition, held since 1910. This championship is held at times annually, every two years, every three years, or every four years. Copa America, or the America Cup, is the championship of South American Football Confederation, or CONMEBOL.

CONMEBOL is one of the six continental federations that comprise FIFA, which runs the World Cup and is the world governing the body of association football. In Copa America, the ten CONMEBOL teams compete with two additional invited teams, which may include teams from North America and Asia.

Until 1975, this competition was known as the South American Football Championship.

Past Winners of Copa America

Uruguay has the most Copa America titles with 15, followed closely by Argentina with 14 wins. Brazil has won the cup eight times, while Paraguay, Peru, and Chile each have a pair of titles. Bolivia and Colombia have each won once. 

Here's a look at the past winners of the Copa America and its predecessor, the South American Football Championship.

2016 Chile 0-0 in extra time over Argentina

2015 Chile 0-0 in extra time over Argentina

2011 Uruguay 3-0 over Paraguay

2007 Brazil 3-0 over Argentina

2004 Brazil 2-2 over Argentina (Brazil won 4-2 on penalties)

2001 Colombia 1-0 over Mexico

1999 Brazil 3-0 over Uruguay

1997 Brazil 3-1 over Bolivia

1995 Uruguay 1-1 over Brazil (Uruguay won 5-3 on penalties)

1993 Argentina 2-1 Mexico

1991 Argentina - League Format

1989 Brazil - League Format

1987 Uruguay 1-0 over Chile

1983 Uruguay 3-1 over Brazil

1979 Paraguay 3-1 over Chile

1975 Peru 4-1 over Colombia

South American Championship Era

1967 Uruguay - League Format

1963 Bolivia - League Format

1959 Uruguay - League Format

1959 Argentina - League Format

1957 Argentina - League Format

1956 Uruguay - League Format

1955 Argentina - League Format

1953 Paraguay 3-2 over Brazil

1949 Brazil 7-0 over Paraguay

1947 Argentina - League Format

1946 Argentina - League Format

1945 Argentina - League Format

1942 Uruguay - League Format

1941 Argentina - League Format

1939 Peru - League Format

1937 Argentina 2-0 over Brazil

1935 Uruguay - League Format

1929 Argentina - League Format

1927 Argentina - League Format

1926 Uruguay - League Format

1925 Argentina - League Format

1924 Uruguay - League Format

1923 Uruguay - League Format

1922 Brazil 3-1 over Paraguay

1921 Argentina - League Format

1920 Uruguay - League Format

1919 Brazil - League Format

1917 Uruguay - League Format

1916 Uruguay - League Format

1910 Argentina - League Format

Women's Copa America

The women's version of the competition, Copa America Femenina, has been contested since 1991. Unlike the men's tournament, the Copa America Femenina is consistently held every four years. Competition is limited to the ten CONMEBOL member national teams.

Brazil has won seven of the eight Copa America Femenina competitions. They won in 1991, 1995, 1998, 2003, 2010, 2014, and 2018. Argentina won the competition in 2006.

  • 2013 Confederations Cup final - Brazil v Spain

    What Is Soccer's Confederations Cup?

  • Arsenal v West Bromwich Albion - Premier League

    The Football Association Challenger Cup Winners List

  • Cafu and team mates of Brazil celebrating after the Germany v Brazil, World Cup Final match

    Which Soccer Teams Have Won the World Cup?

  • Adidas soccer balls.

    How Teams Qualify for Soccer's World Cup

  • Lionel Messi Barcelona

    The 10 Best Soccer Players in the World

  • A match at Santiago Bernabeu, the Real Madrid stadium

    Secrets of Real Madrid's Success

  • Legendary Soccer Star Diego Maradona Was Controversial and Beloved

  • FRISCO, TX - MARCH 15: Midfielder David Beckham #23 of the Los Angeles Galaxy moves the ball against FC Dallas during a charity preseason match on March 15, 2008 at Pizza Hut Park in Frisco,Texas.

    Rugby History: A Timeline

  • Cuju

    Soccer Has Ancient Origins Dating Back As Far As 2500 BC

  • Diego Godin Uruguay

    Ten of the World's Best Defensemen in Soccer

  • The Stanley Cup with winners' names engraved

    Check Out Who Has the Most Stanley Cup Wins

  • Manchester United corner flag

    Manchester United Club Profile and History

  • ALBACETE, SPAIN - OCTOBER 15: Spain's head coach Vicente del Bosque looks on before the start of the Spain v Georgia Group I FIFA 2014 World Cup Qualifier at Carlos Belmonte stadium on October 15, 2013 in Albacete, Spain.

    FIFA's 10 Best National Soccer Teams

  • Low Section Of Player Kicking Soccer Ball On Field

    10 of the Best Midfielders in Soccer

  • BARCELONA, SPAIN - MARCH 29: Lionel Messi of FC Barcelona controls the ball during the La Liga match between RCD Espanyol and FC Barcelona at Cornella-El Prat Stadium on March 29, 2014 in Barcelona, Spain.

    Lionel Messi: Barcelona's Understated Superstar

  • Cristiano Ronaldo of Real Madrid

    Meet Portuguese Soccer Star Cristiano Ronaldo