National League Rookies Of The Year

A rundown of all of the National League Rookies of the Year

Kris Bryant 2015 playoffs
Jonathan Daniel/Getty Images

At the conclusion of every baseball season, the Baseball Writers Association of America votes on the Rookie of the Year for the National and American Leagues. In order to be eligible for the award, players must have at least 130 at-bats, 45 days on the active roster of a Major League team, or 50 innings pitched by September 1st.

The first Rookie of the Year award went to Jackie Robinson. At the time, the award was named after Chicago White Sox owner J. Louis Comiskey, but in 1987 the award was renamed for Jackie Robinson on the 40th anniversary of Robinson winning it. In 1947 and 1948, the award was given to the best overall rookie, but since 1949 it has been given to one player per league.

While winning the award isn't a guarantee of future greatness, 10 of the 69 winners of the National League award are in the National Baseball Hall of Fame and Museum. 

National League Rookies of the Year

  • 2016: Corey Seager, Los Angeles Dodgers
  • 2015: Kris Bryant, Chicago Cubs
  • 2014: Jacob deGrom, New York Mets
  • 2013: Jose Fernandez, Miami Marlins
  • 2012: Bryce Harper, Washington Nationals
  • 2011: Craig Kimbrel, Atlanta Braves
  • 2010: Buster Posey, San Francisco Giants
  • 2009: Chris Coghlan, Florida Marlins
  • 2008: Geovany Soto, Chicago Cubs
  • 2007: Ryan Braun, Milwaukee Brewers
  • 2006: Hanley Ramirez, Florida Marlins
  • 2005: Ryan Howard, Philadelphia Phillies
  • 2004: Jason Bay, Pittsburgh Pirates
  • 2003: Dontrelle Willis, Florida Marlins
  • 2002: Jason Jennings, Colorado Rockies
  • 2001: Albert Pujols, St. Louis Cardinals
  • 2000: Rafael Furcal, Atlanta Braves
  • 1999: Scott Williamson, Cincinnati Reds
  • 1998: Kerry Wood, Chicago Cubs
  • 1997: Scott Rolen, Philadelphia Phillies
  • 1996: Todd Hollandsworth, Los Angeles Dodgers
  • 1995: Hideo Nomo, Los Angeles Dodgers
  • 1994: Raul Mondesi, Los Angeles Dodgers
  • 1993: Mike Piazza, Los Angeles Dodgers
  • 1992: Eric Karros, Los Angeles Dodgers
  • 1991: Jeff Bagwell, Houston Astros
  • 1990: David Justice, Atlanta Braves
  • 1989: Jerome Walton, Chicago Cubs
  • 1988: Chris Sabo, Cincinnati Reds
  • 1987: Benito Santiago, San Diego Padres
  • 1986: Todd Worrell, St. Louis Cardinals
  • 1985: Vince Coleman, St. Louis Cardinals
  • 1984: Dwight Gooden, New York Mets
  • 1983: Darryl Strawberry, New York Mets
  • 1982: Steve Sax, Los Angeles Dodgers
  • 1981: Fernando Valenzuela, Los Angeles Dodgers
  • 1980: Steve Howe, Los Angeles Dodgers
  • 1979: Rick Sutcliffe, Los Angeles Dodgers
  • 1978: Bob Horner, Atlanta Braves
  • 1977: Andre Dawson, Montreal Expos
  • 1976: Pat Zachry, Cincinnati Reds, and Butch Metzger, San Diego Padres
  • 1975: John Montefusco, San Francisco Giants
  • 1974: Bake McBride, St. Louis Cardinals
  • 1973: Gary Matthews, San Francisco Giants
  • 1972: Jon Matlack, New York Mets
  • 1971: Earl Williams, Atlanta Braves
  • 1970: Carl Morton, Montreal Expos
  • 1969: Ted Sizemore, Los Angeles Dodgers
  • 1968: Johnny Bench, Cincinnati Reds
  • 1967: Tom Seaver, New York Mets
  • 1966: Tommy Helms, Cincinnati Reds
  • 1965: Jim Lefebvre, Los Angeles Dodgers
  • 1964: Richie Allen, Philadelphia Phillies
  • 1963: Pete Rose, Cincinnati Reds
  • 1962: Ken Hubbs, Chicago Cubs
  • 1961: Billy Williams, Chicago Cubs
  • 1960: Frank Howard, Los Angeles Dodgers
  • 1959: Willie McCovey, San Francisco Giants
  • 1958: Orlando Cepeda, San Francisco Giants
  • 1957: Jack Sanford, Philadelphia Phillies
  • 1956: Frank Robinson, Cincinnati Reds
  • 1955: Bill Virdon, St. Louis Cardinals
  • 1954: Wally Moon, St. Louis Cardinals
  • 1953: Jim Gilliam, Brooklyn Dodgers
  • 1952: Joe Black, Brooklyn Dodgers
  • 1951: Willie Mays, New York Giants
  • 1950: Sam Jethroe, Boston Braves
  • 1949: Don Newcombe, Brooklyn Dodgers
  • 1948: Alvin Dark, Boston Braves
  • 1947: Jackie Robinson, Brooklyn Dodgers

Some media outlets, like Baseball Almanac and Sporting News, have their own Rookie of the Year awards. Unlike Sporting News and the Baseball Writers Association of America, Baseball Almanac only gives out one rookie. 

  • New York Yankees v Seattle Mariners

    A List of Every Perfect Game in MLB History

  • New York Mets v Washington Nationals - Johan Santana

    Best MLB Pitchers of the 2000s

  • A baseball pitcher illuminated against a night sky

    Best Right Handed Pitchers in Baseball History

  • 01 Jan 1935 circa 1935: American baseball player Lou Gehrig (1903 - 1941), swinging his baseball bat at a game.

    Who Are the Top 10 First Basemen in Baseball History?

  • Studio portrait of New York Yankees catcher Yogi Berra

    Top 10 Catchers in Major League Baseball History

  • Pittsburgh Pirates v Detroit Tigers - Miguel Cabrera

    Top Major League Baseball (MLB) Venezuelan Players

  • Fernando Valenzuela

    The 10 Best MLB Players From Mexico

  • Pedro Martinez

    The 10 Best MLB Players From the Dominican Republic

  • New York Yankees v Boston Red Sox

    Best Hitters and Fielders Stats of the 2000s

  • Ryan Howard of the Philadelphia Phillies celebrates after winning the CENTURY 21 Home Run Derby at the MLB All-Star Game 2006

    Can You Name Every MLB All-Star Game Home Run Derby Winner?

  • The Best MLB Players From Panama

  • Boston Red Sox v Baltimore Orioles

    Biggest MLB Pennant Race Collapses

  • Coors Field.jpg

    Major League Baseball Stadiums Image Gallery

  • DENVER - APRIL 21: Barry Bonds #25 of the San Francisco Giants takes batting practice before the game against the Colorado Rockies on April 21, 2006 at Coors Field in Denver, Colorado. Bonds has 708 career home runs, six shy of tying Babe Ruth.

    Baseball Players and Performance-Enhancing Drugs

  • Police Booking Photos of Baseball Players

    Baseball's World Series Mug Shot Hall of Shame

  • Baseball Card Titled 'McGraw - N.Y. Nat'l'

    Top Managers in Major League Baseball History