What Happens If You Try to Putt Out a Conceded Putt - and Miss?

Is it a stroke? A penalty? What's the ruling?

Golfer taps in a short putt
What happens if a golfer goes to tap in a putt that his opponent has already conceded ... but then misses?. David Cannon/Getty Images

So you concede a putt to your opponent. But the opponent jabs at the ball anyway, and the ball misses the cup. Has your opponent just cost himself a stroke?

Nice try. But no, the hole was over at the moment you conceded the putt. The missed "putt" doesn't count.

A Conceded Putt Is the Same as a Holed Putt

A golfer's play of the hole is over as soon as his golf ball is in the cup. And a conceded putt (or any conceded stroke, whether a putt or not) is exactly the same as holing the ball.

How do we know? Because the Rules of Golf say so. This is what Rule 2-4 (Concession of Match, Hole or Next Stroke) says:

"A player may concede his opponent's next stroke at any time, provided the opponent's ball is at rest. The opponent is considered to have holed out with his next stroke, and the ball may be removed by either side. A concession may not be declined or withdrawn."

A concession may not be declined or withdrawn. Once Golfer A says to Golfer B, "that's good" or "pick it up" or "I'll concede that putt," Golfer B's play of the hole is over. His ball is holed. Period.

If he putts the ball anyway, it doesn't matter. It's nothing but a practice stroke, because his ball was already "holed" by the concession.  

Remember: The Rules Allow Concessions Only in Match Play 

So a conceded putt is a holed putt. But we better point out something, in case you're not clear about it: concessions are only allowed by the Rules of Golf in match play. In stroke play, there are no concessions - at least none that are allowed by the rules. In stroke play, every golfer must actually get her ball into the hole on the green.

But What About 'Gimmies'?

Aha, you say, what about "gimmies"? Many golfers, particularly recreational golfers - buddies out for a fun day on the course - allow gimmies in stroke play. (A gimmie is a short putt that one golfer requests be given to him as made, as in "Will you give me that one?") But while golf buddies might allow gimmies in stroke play, the Rules of Golf do not.

So if your group uses gimmies, you are already outside the rules. Therefore, really, you can do whatever you want when it comes to a gimmie that is putted anyway and missed. However, in the interest of avoiding arguments, we suggest sticking with the match play rule that is in the rules: If a golfer asks for a gimmie, is given it, then putts anyway and misses, the missed putt doesn't count. The gimmie supersedes the miss.

Return to Golf Rules FAQ index

  • Paul Casey conceded a putt to Steve Stricker at the 2008 Ryder Cup

    The Conceded Putt in Golf: Why and When to Do It

  • Three ball format has three golf balls in play on each hole

    When Three Balls Better Than Two: How to Play Three Ball Golf Match

  • Definition of Gimmie in Golf

  • Detail from a photo that appeared in a 1913 golf instruction book by Jerome Travers shows Travers preparing to chip his stymied ball over the stymie his opponent laid for him.

    Blimey Those Stymies! They're Now Gone From Golf, But Not Forgotten

  • Rules official consults the golf rule book

    How the Match Play and Stroke Play Rules Differ in Golf

  • A golf ball is stuck on a tree during the second round of the Open Cala Millor Mallorca in Spain

    What's the Ruling? Sort Out Tricky Golf Rules Situations

  • How to Approach Match Play - Strategies and Rules

  • a golf ball that is holed

    Do You Know What 'Holed' Means in Golf? Find Out

  • This is How Rule 3 in Golf Deals with the Competition

  • Golfer silhouetted in in Ranzow, Germany

    This Is How Golf's Rule 6 Addresses Playing a Hole

  • Thomas Pieters and Adam Scott shake hands after a halved match

    Here's the Whole Story on 'Halved,' the Golf Match Play Term

  • Golfer Charles Howell III plays a stroke

    Here's What Counts (and Doesn't Count) as a Stroke In Golf

  • Key points about the stroke play golf format

    Understanding Stroke Play, the Most Common Way to Play Golf

  • golfer trying to blow ball into hole

    Better Hope You're Not on This List: The Golf Cheats We All Know

  • This Is What Rule 22 In the Rules of Golf Says

  • Marking two golf balls on the green

    Do You Know the Penalties and Procedures When Golf Balls Collide?